A crime suspense

⭐⭐ ⭐☆☆


What She Did by Carla Kovach


The Blurb


Marissa lives alone in her tiny one-bed apartment. It’s quiet and safe; all she’s ever wanted since the night her mother was killed in front of her. But when the police knock on her door with the news that her last remaining family member has been murdered, she comes face to face with the trauma she has spent a lifetime running from.

A witness saw her car outside his house that day, but Marissa knows she’s innocent. She hasn’t seen her uncle in years and remembers going to bed in her own home that night. But she’s had blackouts before and can’t always trust her memory.

Days later, Marissa’s neighbour is found dead in his home with stab wounds all over his body, exactly like her uncle. It was no secret that Marissa didn’t get on with her neighbour, but she’d never want to see him hurt. How can she convince the police that she isn’t a killer? And, as the secrets from her past take hold of her present, is there anyone in her small world she can trust?

As you read, you’ll believe every word Marissa says. You’ll think you know where to draw the line between innocence and guilt. But blame is a dangerous thing, and nothing is ever what it seems…

Perfect for fans of C.L. Taylor, Teresa Driscoll and Lisa Jewell, What She Did is a dark and twisty crime thriller that will keep you up all night!


About the Author



Carla Kovach is a crime and horror author from Worcestershire. Her most popular work, the DI Gina Harte series is published by Bookouture. As well as books, she also writes stage and screenplays.


The Review


The author most definitely sets the staging perfectly in this psychological thriller, transporting us back in time and witnessing five-year-old Marissa laying terrified under the bed she shares with her mother, too scared to make a sound, as she witnesses the murder of her beloved mother.


The novel moves between the present and Marissa growing up living with her Aunt Caroline and Uncle Simon’s house following her mother’s death. They made it clear that they never wanted her there and despite the horrors that took place in their house, she never said a word to her kind-hearted social worker, the fear of being placed in a children’s home being too great.


But Marissa as an adult, has a lot that is holding her back from behaving like the adult she clearly wants to be. If I’m being objective and true to myself, I found the character a little annoying. I certainly didn’t care for her despite what she had been through. It felt that the reader was being constantly reminded what an awful childhood Marissa had had, repeating feelings and why she would be sad over and over. But don’t let this put you off of the suspense that is portrayed very well throughout.


Likewise, I couldn’t understand why Marissa would believe that Mr Forges, who was a new source of work and had taken her to lunch once, would be the person that she steadfastly believed was the person behind all of the awfulness that was happening to her other than to be the decoy for the real stalker.


The ending is worth hanging on in there for even though it is a little far-fetched.


Book available for pre-order – release date – 20th September 2021:-


What She Did: A gripping crime thriller with a jaw-dropping twist eBook : Kovach, Carla: Amazon.co.uk: Kindle Store


Date of review: 15.09.2021

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All