Fast paced and a good hook

Updated: Jun 30


⭐⭐ ⭐


The Wedding by Ruth Heald


The Blurb


Just four words were printed in the card. He doesn’t love you. I’ve been dreaming about this day – marrying Adam, my childhood sweetheart, who I’ve loved for eighteen years. I didn’t realise the perfect day would turn into the perfect nightmare. I was so excited to send out the wedding invitations, carefully writing everyone’s names on thick cream paper in beautiful cursive script. I had no idea I was inviting someone to destroy our marriage. I couldn’t wait to say ‘I do’ surrounded by loved ones clinking champagne glasses. I couldn’t imagine that one of them would try to hurt me. It was meant to be the first day of the rest of our lives. I never thought it would be the end of my life as I knew it. We were meant to share our vows, to toast our future. But when the truth comes out, shocking the onlooking guests and ripping my heart out, is a happy ever after possible? A completely gripping and totally addictive read that will get your blood pressure rising and send shivers down your spine. Fans of Date Night, The Sister-in-Law and The Girl on the Train will devour this twisty, dark and gasp-worthy page-turner in one swift gulp!


The Review

Just want to say that this is just my opinion and it may well be that this novel is just commercial for my taste. To be fair, the hook is immediate. Straight in and you want to know who would do this to someone on their wedding day. We don’t know who is the antagonist and are kept guessing all the way through. No spoilers I promise! It’s very fast paced. There are moments when you think you know who is behind it but then something else comes about and you have to re-think it. It was very tense and thrilling but here’s the thing, I just didn’t connect with the protagonist enough. In fact, she was beginning to grate on my nerves.


The reviews of this book making it number 1 in the psychological book Kindle list, blew me away a little. Perhaps I was expecting more because of it.


I loved the fact that the reader is kept guessing throughout the book. I thought I had solved it early on but I was completely wrong.


At times, I found the writing too ‘oversharing’ to the point where the author is repeating the same information over and over again. It got to the point where I was thinking, yes, I know you’re getting married, I know your parents died in an accident in Thailand, I know you haven’t spoken to your sister in many years. But do you know what, by the time I got into it, I didn’t actually care because I still wanted to know who was responsible and that’s all you want as an author.


You can buy a copy on the following link:

https://www.waterstones.com/book/the-wedding/ruth-heald/9781838882266


Review dated: 02.04.21


12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All