So many brilliant twists

⭐⭐ ⭐⭐


The Liar Next Door by Nicola Marsh


The Blurb


We live in a close-knit community. Thirty houses surrounding a square of garden that is perfect for our kids. We congregate here on major holidays, each family bringing a plate and sharing food and conversation. It’s in the garden that I first met her. The woman who would worm her way into my family and piece by piece tear it apart…

I should have known something was wrong from the very beginning. She seemed perfect in so many ways: she floated through the baby shower, a warm smile on her face, chatting to strangers with ease. At first I thought it was sweet that she offered to help me, that she made an effort to get to know us, that she brought over games and knew Luna’s favorite foods… I had no idea that I couldn’t trust another mother…

I should have known that someone would eventually discover the secret in my marriage. Why I never believe a word my husband says—and why he shouldn’t believe me. But how could a woman I only just met be the one to find it out?

If I’d known, I’d have called the police sooner.

And maybe I’d have prevented that dreadful scene. Every neighbor peering through their curtains as the sirens wailed in our street.

I could have protected my family.

I could have stopped what happened next…

Fans of Liane Moriarty, Sally Hepworth and The Girl on the Train will love this utterly unputdownable domestic thriller from USA Today bestselling author Nicola Marsh.


About the Author



She has published 77 books, sold over 8 million copies worldwide and been translated into 25 languages.

A physiotherapist for 13 years, she now adores writing full time, raising her two dashing young heroes, sharing fine food with family and friends, barracking loudly for her beloved North Melbourne Kangaroos footy team, and her favourite, curling up with a good book!


The Review


Just by virtue of the fact that the author has written a total of 77 books, you are pretty much guaranteed that you are in safe hands with this psychological novel.


The book is written in the first-person accounts of three women who live in a close-knit community on the east coast of the US of A. Frankie is a lifestyle blogger earning big money but since her husband’s affair, her life isn’t as perfect as the image she portrays in her daily vlogs. Mother to five-year old Luna, she is fiercely protective of their privacy and the secrets she wants no one, especially her husband to know.


Saylor, newly married and pregnant, has recently moved to the area but struggles to forget the love of her life, handsome Ruston after being introduced to fellow Christian, Lloyd, by her parents in order to move on from Ruston once again breaking her heart. When she realises that he is one of her neighbours, she cannot stop herself from peeking into his life. When we discover that she is being blackmailed and this was the reason for her relocation to Hambridge Heights, the suspense certainly becomes more intriguing.


Celeste has also just moved to the neighbourhood with her five-year-old daughter Violette and she is clearly hiding some secrets as to why she turned up with only a couple of bags under the cover of darkness and why she has an unhealthy interest in befriending Frankie.


We get little snatches of each of the character’s backgrounds along the way, their flaws and their disappointments. The build-up increases as more secrets are exposed by the three women. More than anything I loved the friendship unravelling between Frankie and Celeste.


I could not have expected the twists and turns through the novel and as the tension increases there are some pretty shocking revelations that I was not expecting.


The only downside was that on occasions, I had to keep reminding myself whether it was Frankie, Celeste or Saylor who was telling each chapter’s story.


This is a heart-warming story of love, friendship, loyalty, family, and trust wrapped up in a brilliant psychological thriller.


Book available for pre-order – release date – 23rd August 2021:-


The Liar Next Door: An absolutely unputdownable domestic thriller eBook : Marsh, Nicola: Amazon.co.uk: Kindle Store


Date of review: 27.08.21

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All