Tense unputdownable read

Updated: Aug 16

⭐⭐ ⭐⭐⭐


The Family Across the Street by Nicole Trope


The Blurb


The most perfect families hide the most shocking secrets. You just have to look close enough…

Everybody wants to live on Hogarth Street – the pretty, quiet road in the suburbs, where everyone knows everyone, and they all look out for each other.

But one summer’s day they discover they don’t know the family across the street at all.

When the Wests moved in, they seemed perfect. Katherine and Josh were so in love, and their five-year-old twins George and Sophie were gorgeous. Except every marriage has problems and every family has secrets.

There is more to the Wests than their emerald-green lawn and ivy-covered gate. Behind closed doors, there are whispered arguments they don’t want the twins to hear. A wife who has made a mistake. A husband with regrets. A mother who will stop at nothing to protect her children.

One morning, everything that has been hidden comes out into the open. When the police are called, and sirens screech through the air, everyone will know the truth about the West family. And Hogarth Street will never be the same again.

A completely gripping psychological thriller about normal family, in a normal house, on a normal street – and their shocking secrets. Fans of Liane Moriarty, Sally Hepworth and Lisa Jewell will be totally addicted to this twist-packed page-turner.


About the Author




Nicole Trope went to university to study Law but realised the error of her ways when she did very badly on her first law essay because-as her professor pointed out- 'It's not meant to be a story.' She studied teaching instead and used her holidays to work on her writing career and complete a Masters' degree in Children's Literature.

The idea for her first published novel, The Boy under the Table, was so scary that it took a year for her to find the courage to write the emotional story. She went on to publish a further five novels in Australia before joining Bookouture in 2019. She is a USA Today and Amazon bestseller in the USA, UK, AUS and CAN.

She lives in Sydney with her husband and three children


The Review


This is a truly exquisite novel. Set in Australia, we meet Katherine and her five-year old twins, Sophie and George, Gladys the nosy neighbour and Logan the delivery driver. The story is told through different perspectives. Following gun shots, the Police are in attendance at suburban Hogarth Street and from there we are taken back to seven hours before, to find out what brought them to such a dark place.


There’s an immediate hook that gets you turning the pages wanting to know more. With wonderful velvety characters, all with their own demons, they are all, in their own ways, trying their best to conceal and live with their flaws which is the perfect recipe for an exciting unputdownable novel.


The character I completely fell in love with was most definitely Logan. With his deeply blemished character and his chequered past, he’s desperately trying to put his wrong-doings in the past thanks to the love of his wife Debbie. The fact that despite putting himself in the eye of the storm, he comes across as such a decent and kind guy that I was desperately rooting for him.


In fact, every single character leaps from the pages fully encapsulating this psychological novel with the fear mounting wonderfully as the book reaches its climax.


But the twist, I did not see coming. It was brilliantly executed and it made me delve deep to think about how I hadn’t seen it coming with a sense of satisfaction and a nod to the author for twisting it so brilliantly.


This is a heart-warming story delving into the unconditional love of a mother for her children, to want to protect them in every way possible even at great risk to herself.


I thoroughly recommend.

Available for pre-order on the following link – release date – 06.08.2021


The Family Across the Street: A totally unputdownable psychological thriller with a shocking twist eBook : Trope, Nicole: Amazon.co.uk: Kindle Store


Review date: 23.07.2021

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All