The suspense throughout is brilliant

⭐⭐ ⭐⭐


The New Home by Chris Merritt


The Blurb


Freya loves her new home on a quiet suburban street. And her beautiful neighbour Emily is everything she’s ever wanted in a best friend. Finally, she has somebody to share her secrets with over a glass of wine. But as Freya watches her new friend setting the table for dinner one evening, she sees something shocking that makes her think that Emily’s life might not be as perfect as it seems. Days later, Emily and her daughter vanish…

When you meet Emily’s husband, you will think you know what he’s hiding.

You will ask yourself whether Emily and Freya really did meet by chance.

You will think you know what happened to Emily and her little girl the night they went missing.

But when you discover the truth, it will shake you to your core and you will lie awake at night wondering if you can ever really trust the people in the house next door…

Fans of Claire McGowan, Shalini Boland and Lisa Jewell will love the gripping tension and unexpected twists of The New Home. Once you start reading, you’ll be hooked!


About the Author



Chris Merritt began writing fiction in 2014, after previous careers as a diplomat, based in Iraq and Jerusalem, and later as a psychologist working with victims and perpetrators of crime. He specialised in treating Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD), which sparked my interest in telling stories about how people cope when faced with extreme adversity. The Review


The quirky character of Freya hooked me from the outset and the immediate creepiness is told from the start when Freya and her boyfriend Jack move into their dream home, albeit, they are more than aware that it will involve putting a lot of hard work into in order to make it as beautiful a home as their neighbours Emily and Michael.


Freya and Emily begin a friendship days after they move in however something does not sit right and Freya can’t stop thinking about that first time she met them and the way that Jack had reacted to meeting Emily. There was something definitely not right.


But then when Emily and her daughter Thea go missing and the lead detective Henderson does not appear to be treating their disappearance terribly seriously, Freya steps in and decides to open a Facebook group to try and find her friend.


I’ve got to say, this is one of the tensest books I’ve read in a long while. The suspense carries along wonderfully with that kind of knotted anticipation of the fear of what Freya will discover especially when she believes that Emily and Thea have been murdered by her husband.


The threat to Freya becomes more real when she receives threatening messages through the Facebook group from someone who clearly knows that she is the person behind it. The fact that Freya is seeing a counsellor and depending more and more on him. Freya soon realises that something has shifted and instead of discussing her miscarriage, the reason that took her to getting a counsellor in the first place, she focuses on the disappearance of Emily and Thea, blurring the lines between reality and her mental health which is portrayed wonderfully.


The suspense throughout is excellent and it’s beautifully written with some artfully created phrases giving a really sensitive but thoroughly enjoyable characteristics of Freya. One thing is for sure, I was passionately behind every step Freya took to find her friend and daughter, hopefully alive and well.


All in all, a good read that I would thoroughly recommend.


Book available for pre-order – release date – 7th September 2021:-


The New Home: An absolutely gripping psychological thriller with a jaw-dropping twist eBook : Merritt, Chris: Amazon.co.uk: Kindle Store


Date of review: 05.09.2021

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All